Tags

,

My Daughter Victoria “six years old at the time” mentioned to me that she wanted to have her very own bedtime story, not just any old bedtime story, she wanted to be the main character, and, she wanted to interact with everyone within it. “You can do it Daddy, because you have a great imagination”  I had heard that before, from my Mother when I was a young boy…

I had made up stories from time to time for Victoria but this would take it to a whole new level..I had no plot, no game plan and no characters yet somehow I knew I would have something ready for bedtime that night.

As a child I had always had a an active imagination and life was one huge interesting adventure. Every dream I have ever had has been in full blown color and not black and white as we are told from dream psychologists. I can gather information from all around me and translate it in different ways. It is this gift that would steer me to Victorias story which would eventually lead to me writing a book.. But, I digress.

That night as Victoria jumped on to her bed she said “OK Daddy i’m ready” she chuckled as she fluffed up the comforter and laid her head on her pillow.  “This is the story of Victoria, Willie & Leonard the Dragon” for the next thirty minutes I took Victoria on an adventure that would lead the way to many, many wonderful journals  that fueled the mind and spirit and left you excited for the next installment.  Every weekend we immersed ourselves in the adventures.  The story was medieval themed hence the characters names and clothing of that period. Victoria, keep Leonard the Dragon a secret from the rest of the Villagers where she lived, all apart from her very best friend Willie, and together they went on wonderful journeys of discovery, exploration.

Her Father,  was a brave Knight, Sir Martin, “played by me”  and we live in the kingdom of Burger “pronounced Bur-cher” to make it sound slightly French… Every good person used in the story accounts where people we had either met of people we knew personally.

One, maybe two stories a day, every Friday, Saturday and Sunday without fail… Sometimes I would tell a story in the car while we drove home and sometimes as she lay on her bed eagerly waiting for the next exciting installment. Vary rarely did we miss out on story time… It was the most special and unique, quality time a Father and Daughter could share together, and I miss every single second of those precious moments.

Lets back up here a second and see where it all began….

I was a youngish 40 year old (Divorced) single Father who had weekend custardy of his adorable daughter ”  I didn’t have a great deal of money “due to the divorce” so, whatever money I had left after buying food for the weekend, was invested at the Dollar store  at our local Sarasota Shopping Mall.  Victoria would sift through the one dollar toys, and we would pick out whatever we thought would create a little fun for the weekend.  Sometimes these objects would become part of a story plot and this eventually lead the Leonard the Dragon concept.

I can pluck a story out of thin air, literally by just taking in what was going on around me, everything and anything gave me the fuel for story ideas. While driving home one Friday from daycare with Victoria, I remember it was pouring with rain and thundering like crazy “I eventually used this for the base of the story when the rains threatened the flood the village and Leonard secretly dug a protective moat around the village at night to protect everyone ”   Another time Victoria mentioned how pretty her teacher was at school, and how she thought we might make a nice couple LOL “This became the story of the visiting Princes from the Kingdom of Ashlon, who fell madly in love with the Knight Sir Martin… There are dozens and dozens of accounts like this and everyone became the fictional accounts of this little girls journey through story land.

(NOTE) My Novel is completely separate to Victoria’s story and has nothing to do with Leonard or anyone else in the bedtime stories.

Two years later Victoria now aged 8 noticed a picture I drew on on a writing pad and asked me who it was. I told her who it was and what the picture represented  “you should write a book about him” she said .. That weekend while I took Victoria  ice skated at the ice rink in Palmetto I began writing while listening the the music of Celtic Circle and Charlotte Church.. The first words spilled on to the paper like a heard of mustangs running across the wide open prairies.

Lets be serious here.. I am not a writer, I have no skills as a writer.  I am not a strong speller, and my biggest flaw was … I didn’t read that many books …  “The reason I didn’t read other Authors books was because I would get really bored of waiting for the end so I would put the book down and never pick it up again. I would sooner listen to an audio book rather than read one Yet, I still had a desire to write this book, more like compelled to write it.

My life as a young boy was pretty simple,  it was also very enjoyable. By todays standards it would be classified as really bloody boring. We had a Black and White TV, an old dial AM radio and a record player. These where the only forms of entertainment, we didn’t have cell phones, computers or XBoxe’s back then “Thank God”

I loved the old B&W classic movies, and I enjoyed listening to my fathers opera music on LP’s. I loved buying comic books from the local corner store, and reveled in  DC, and Marvel super hero’s. I would spend my pocket money on the latest monthly Spiderman, Batman comics and read them over and over again “many of them I still have today dating back to the year 1974 and in perfect condition” maybe this was where it all started for me. A simple but mindfully adventurous life.

So to reiterate here.. No book writing skills, Zero……… Yet, I have enough written material for a damn trilogy…Just how did I do that, and when will it be finished???

Well this blog will uncover how I went about that task .. Why I am still writing it. Why I hope to find similar people like me, and help them unblock their minds to complete the mission…. The mission of writing the first finished NOVEL..

